House of French

January 19, 2009

Celebrity Designers Steal the Runway

Filed under: Misc. — Tags: , — xfrenchx @ 11:13 pm

I have always had this huge obsession with clothes. I know that I’m not alone, that most women love clothes too, but I always found my interest in apparel to exceed that of others around me. Growing up my family didn’t have a lot of money, or the luxury of buying their children everything they wanted; so my middle sister and I would attempt to make Barbie outfits out of our old clothes, usually producing an ugly off-white tube dress made out of a sock, or a floral skirt sewn on the outside with sloppy stitches exposed, from an old church dress that no longer fit us. Another favourite hobby of mine was to skip through my Archie books to any page with Betty and Veronica, and try to draw their outfits. When I was around 12 years old, I drew my first real fashion sketch; I had turned my hanging robe into a very cute coat. It was actually one of the best drawings ever – something natural flowed out of me, and I still to this day have not gotten back that natural skill; I only use technique and measurements. It didn’t really occur to me until I was about 17 years old that I actually wanted to be a designer; that I had obviously wanted to a designer since I was a little girl.

As someone who dreams to one day show my collections in the biggest fashion cities, I happen to be against and in fact angered by the sea of rich celebrities who choose to invade our world of fashion (when I say “our” I mean any person in the world who actually dreams of being a designer and only a designer). It may seem silly to others, but to stand by and watch a bunch of rich actresses or singers steal a spot in the industry that I am actually passionate for. Besides the fact that these women have already found tremendous success in their chosen field and have no need to design, they are not even trained! This is what really gets me. These celebs are cashing in on merchandise that they have not even created themselves; they have no training in design, patternmaking or sewing and on top of that they don’t have to learn and then struggle for success because they get it automatically. It’s also unfair to the designers, patternmakers and sewers who are behind the creative process themselves, and having some spoiled rich woman slap her name on their work; they are not being credited for their success and hard work. Today, the list of celeb designers is quite large, and I have a very sinking feeling it’s not going to end anytime soon. Among the list of already famous designers out there, I believe that only three of them are real (and by real I mean trained) designers; those being Nicky Hilton who studied fashion design in College, Lauren Conrad who also studied design, and Beyonce who I believe was taught by her mother, who is one of the creative forces behind their Dereon label.

Nicky Hilton – as I said the younger Hilton sister actually studied design, first at the Fashion Institute of Design where she most likely graduated with some sort of Diploma, and then went on to study at Parsons School of Design, but did not recieve her Degree because she left. It doesn’t really matter that she didn’t ger her fourth year; it’s the exact same as graduating with a Diploma, except a Degree just “looks” better. This girl knows how to do everything that any other designer can do as well, and maybe she didn’t have to work hard for it, but hey neither did Stella McCartney! Nicky’s first job in the fashion industry had her working in Japan designing handbags for Samantha Thavasa from 2002 until 2005. She launched her first independent label in 2004, an affordable collection of fashion forward clothing under the name ‘Chick’. She then went on to launch a more mature, high fashion label under her full name ‘Nicholai’.

Lauren Conrad – I guess you could kind of say she was a celeb before she studied design since she was on Laguna Beach but I didn’t really consider that to make her A-List or anything. She was more famous from The Hills, when she was attending FIT for fashion; but I was never really clear on her exact course. I say this because when I was attending college, I had to carry around bags upon bags weighing at least 50 pounds, filled with supplies. I never saw LC carrying design supplies, never saw her sketching, never saw anything about design on The Hills; but I could be wrong about what she actually learned. Either way, she has her college credentials and that’s all that matters.

Beyonce – As far as I know, Beyonce has never studied design, but her mother has all the skills needed, and used to design all the costumes for Destiny’s Child. I believe Beyonce would have picked up her skills in design from her mother. Maybe she can’t be a whole part of the creative process, but she has said that she is always a part of the design, and would never put out clothing designed by another person and slap her name on it. I think I can give her the benefit of the doubt.

The following celebrities are the ones I belive do not have any training in design. These celebrities are the ones I feel are invading an industry that they don’t belong to, and industry that they have no knowledge about; liking clothing and knowing the latest trends has little to do with making clothing, and I’m pretty sure these women can’t design, sew or make patterns – therefore they are not designers. If I am mistaken, and anyone knows whether one or more of these celebs have training, please let me know so I can fix my mistakes.

– J.Lo

-Rachel Bilson

– Jessica Simpson

– Sarah Jessica Parker

– The Olsen Twins

– Madonna

– Hilary Duff

– Gwen Stefani

– Kimora Lee Simmons

– Paris Hilton

– Penelope Cruz and her sister Monica

– The Kardashian Sisters

– Victoria Beckham

– Sienna Miller

– Mandy Moore

– Kate Moss

– Amanda Bynes

– Lindsay Lohan

– Fergie

– Pamela Anderson

– Milla Jovovich and friend

3 Comments »

  1. As much as i agree with everything you wrote I feel that Gwen Stefani is an amazing addition to the fashion industry. Her clothing line L.A.M.B is so exciting and funky. She added something fresh and vibrant that fashion was missing for awhile. However the other celebrities should just stop already. 🙂

    Comment by Jessica Creelman — January 20, 2009 @ 12:22 pm

  2. Actually I do agree, I am a fan of LAMB myself, she does have some very fashion forward collections and they are really great … however, that doesnt change the fact that she has not trained for this, she is not a real designer, whether her clothes are nice or not 🙂 and the reason her line is good probably has something to do with her hiring professional designers to do the work 😉 …. I also do like a couple of the other lines, Baby Phat can have some really nice clothes, and I also like JLos designs, I own lots of her clothes myself, including these killer pumps I just bought from her JLo line, they are to die for! 🙂 But I think if celebs want to be designers, they should go to design school first, just like every other aspiring designer.

    Comment by xfrenchx — January 21, 2009 @ 1:07 pm

  3. With the exception of a few designers you listed (like Gwen, the Olsen twins, and Milla Jovovich), some of the “fashion” these celebs are pumping out are pure trash, so it’s quite inferior to give them the title of fashion designer in the first place. I mean, Lindsay Lohan should definitely focus her attention on her failing film career instead of designing ridiculous leggings. Yuck 😛

    Comment by Steph — January 22, 2009 @ 12:38 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

